Home / NEWS / MEA Announces Winners of WA State Awards

MEA Announces Winners of WA State Awards

Last Friday night, the best and brightest members of Western Australia’s electro-technology industry gathered at Perth’s Duxton Hotel for Master Electricians (MEA) WA State Excellence Awards.

An overwhelming number of entries were received this year, covering a range of categories from Master Electrician of the year, through to awards for women in contracting and energy efficiency projects.

Master Electrician of the year award recipient Greg Allan of Response Fire & Electrical was acknowledged on the night for his contribution to professional development through the foundation of The Electricians Success Academy, which was born out of his own frustrations as an apprentice to educate and support apprentices and electricians at all levels.

The judges noted Allan’s fresh ideas and can-do attitude, making him an inspiration for all within the sector.

Among the award winners were Corey Lutz of Techforce Electrical, who took out the Legrand Apprentice of the Year and Kimberley Madden- Marshall of Comspark, who was named Women in Contracting award winner for displaying outstanding leadership managing the business through signficant change and as on-site project manager on the Stirling Cross residential towers and Quest hotel project.

MEA CEO Malcolm Richards said the awards are a great way to recognize and highlight the incredible talent within the state.

“This year’s awards have demonstrated the outstanding level of achievement within the electro-technology sector in WA,”

“MEA is proud of the high caliber of award recipients and their tremendous contribution to the growth of the industry,” Mr Richards said.

“We are honoured to have the opportunity to recognize the stellar efforts made by our members over the past year and congratulate them on their invaluable commitment to various projects within the state.”

The Winners of the Master Electricians WA Excellence Awards were as follows:

Commercial Project of the Year – Brendan Balcombe, Aurora Electrical

Women in Contracting – Kimberley Madden-Marshall, Comspark

Data Project of The Year – Chris Duncan, ComSpark

Energy Efficiency Project of the Year – Tim Shaw, West State Electrics

Legrand Apprentice of the Year – Corey Lutz, Techforce Electrical

Master Electrician of the Year – Greg Allan, Response Fire & Electrical

Winners of the state Awards will proceed to the National Awards judging followed by a celebration of the national winners at the National Awards Gala Dinner to be held at the stunning and recently-renovated Brisbane City Hall on November 18.

Malcolm Richards is available for interview. Please phone The SAS Group on 07 3221 9222.

  • CodeofPractice-Sidebar