Home / NEWS / SA sparkies shine at Master Electricians Excellence Awards

SA sparkies shine at Master Electricians Excellence Awards

Master Electricians Australia (MEA) has unveiled South Australia’s best sparkies in a star-studded line-up of winners stretching across seven categories.

The 2019 MEA South Australia Excellence Awards recognises the contribution of electrical professionals and businesses from the entire state, with the winners now advancing to the National Master Electricians Excellence Awards to be held later in the year.

RCG Electrical Services took out the top prize for Master Electrician of the Year, with owner Ryan Gregor also taking out the gong for Electrician of the Year.

The Energy Efficiency Project of the Year went to Troy Smith of Electric Results for replacing over 1,200 lights in a major upgrade to Western Hospital. The job required close consultation with each department head and required high safety controls that come with working in a hospital.

Other winners included Ray Wadsworth of Island Electrics (Commercial Project of the Year), Brooke Green from Glow Heating Cooling Electrical (Women in Contracting), Garry Nau from GESA (Residential Project of the Year), and Matthew Weninger from Electric Results (Legrand Apprentice of the Year).

MEA CEO Malcolm Richards was on hand to award the prizes and congratulated all the winners and nominees.

“South Australia is home to some of the most diligent electrical professionals in the country and that is reflected in the high-calibre of nominees for the 2019 SA Excellence Awards,” Mr Richards said.

“The Project winners demonstrate that MEA members are at the forefront of the cutting-edge ingenuity taking place in the electrical industry, while the individual champions showcase the incredibly high standards that come with being an accredited Master Electrician.

“I congratulate all winners, along with all those who were nominated in each category. As an entire organisation MEA can take tremendous pride in the work being produced by our members and I know that the judges did not have an easy time making their decisions.

“But the biggest winners are actually the clients who have benefitted from the innovative and professional work performed by MEA’s South Australian members. Industry high standards in quality, safety and integrity are the hallmarks of all Master Electricians and the 2019 South Australian Excellence Awards prove that in spades.”

Malcolm Richards is available for interview.
Please phone The SAS Group on (07) 3221 9222 or 0467 792 013.

Winners of the 2019 Master Electricians South Australia Excellence Awards

  1. Commercial Project of the Year Award – Ray Wadsworth – Island Electrics
  2. Women in Contracting Award – Brooke Green – Glow Heating Cooling Electrical
  3. Energy Efficiency Project of the Year Award – Troy Smith – Electric Results
  4. Legrand Apprentice of the Year Award – Matthew Weninger – Electric Results
  5. Residential Project of the Year Award – Garry Nau – GESA
  6. Electrician (Tradie) of the Year Award – Ryan Gregor – RGC Electrical
  7. Master Electrician of the Year Award – RCG Electrical – Ryan Gregor
  • CodeofPractice-Sidebar

Get the latest industry news

We’ll keep you informed and up to date