Home / About / Management Team

Management Team

Malcolm Richards, Chief Executive Officer

Malcolm Richards was appointed CEO in July 2006 after spending six years with the Queensland Electrical Safety Office where his role included developing new electrical safety legislation.

Malcolm has extensive experience in the electrical industry through 17 years working for Ergon Energy and previously NORQEB based in Townsville.

He is a qualified electrical fitter/mechanic/linesperson and has completed a Masters of Business Administration (MBA).

Sharon McClelland, General Manager Membership

Sharon has a true passion for member centricity; placing the member at the centre of the business model and developing strategies, marketing, communication and engagement plans that deliver business results through meeting member needs. She has worked in senior roles for the past 15 years across the mutual, retail/trade and education sectors, most recently as the Member Value Proposition Manager for RACQ.

Sharon is a people person whom enjoys collaborating with stakeholders to build the business strategy and tactical activity to ensure delivery of business objectives. She has tertiary qualifications (Canberra University), is a Certified Marketing Manager (B.O.M.A) and is experienced in Design Thinking (ECHOS).

Carol Caton, Chief Financial Officer

Carol is a CPA, also holding a Governance Institute of Australia Certificate in governance studies. Her extensive background in finance was grounded in external, internal, and information systems audit, later using that experience in roles in both the For Profit and Not for Profit sectors.With approximately 20 years of executive management experience in a range of industries across metropolitan, remote and international locations, Carol focuses on applying her skills to establishing a controlled environment employing best practice procedures, incorporating flexibility and responsiveness.

Carol’s experience includes Company Secretarial roles, including serving for six years as a non-executive director on the Board of a Not for Profit organisation.